Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Memorial Day Weekend Stay-cation (report with pics)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Memorial Day Weekend Stay-cation (report with pics)

I think by default, smallmouth bass are becoming my preferred quarry. Lots of opportunity for them within an hour of the PDX area, without much, if any competition. And there sure are a heck of a lot more of them around than steelhead.

I stayed in town this weekend, which looked to be the right decision when seeing all the red Google maps was showing on the highways out of of the metro area. Decided to check out a suburban stretch of the Willamette about 25 mins from home. The water is very high. I spied many rocky outcroppings when doing Google reconnaissance; these are all submerged and the bank inaccessible. I did find a nearby boat ramp area built on a rocky point. Found a few willing to munch my woolly bugger, small but scrappy.

I'm still learning about these fish. Trout they are not. Every time I catch a few and think I have them figured out, the bite dies off and I'm left scratching my head. But by having some success with them, I'm motivated to keep learning about what may wind up being Oregon's fish of the future.

Cheers,

Dan

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180526_174044.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	2.99 MB
ID:	7121

Name:	IMG_20180526_172600.jpg
Size:	2.87 MB
ID:	7122

Name:	IMG_20180526_175039.jpg
Size:	3.95 MB
ID:	7123
    Last edited by stillwaterdan; 05-29-2018, 11:41 AM.
    https://flyfishingwithdrdan.wordpress.com/

Good job there, Dan. Love those red-eyed devils!

Anything that close to home doesn't count against your allotted fishing time.
    The Catchin' Ninny

Comment

I just don't catch enough smallmouth. I wish I ran into them more. thanks for the report.
      You don't need no gypsy to tell you why,
      You can't let one precious day slip by.

Comment