Fishing The Truckee In July

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fishing The Truckee In July

Hey folks, so I'm headed to Truckee for a work event in mid-July and will be staying over a couple of nights to fish the Truckee River. I've never fished this water, so am looking for some advice on most successful tactics, from those that have experience on that water.

Appreciate any information the group can provide.

Tight Lines!!

Been away from Cali for almost 15 years but I used to hit it pretty hard in the summer as I was a teacher. Always found the Truckee to be fickle. Long flat runs near Tahoe City didn't have the highest populations when I was there even though it looked good. Had better luck in the areas around Truckee and the water was bigger with more tribs having flowed in. Have no idea what the drought years did to it as it pretty much stopped flowing out of Lake Tahoe from what I understand. I always found days to be slow but the magic hour was truly magic. Little T below Stampede is fun too. If you are driving take the scenic route back up and stop at Lake Almanor for the Hexes. Message me if you are road tripping back and I can dish out a few other spots.

Comment

I spent a decade learning the Truckee. It is a special river for sure. In July, I'd prolly concentrate in the canyon along interstate 80......between the town of Truckee and Verdi.....the water around Hirschdale is nice.....early/late, especially if its hot...may even be hoot owl closure if the water is warming up too much in the afternoon......my #1 rig would be a two fly nymph setup....golden stone on point with a caddis dropper......be prepared for caddis, pmd, yellow sallies......I'd count on nymphin during day and throwin meat in low light or maybe gettin some surface action.....there are some serious toads in this river, so meat is always on the menu.

Honestly though, if you really wanna have a good shot I'd hire a guide.......it's not called the "Trickee" for nothing.